

Michael H. Bruno TAGAAWARD



Presented by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

March 17, 2020

TAGA Michael H. Bruno W A

2020

SOCIATION OF THE APHIC ARTS

Award

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award For **Outstanding Contributions to** the **Graphic Arts Industry**

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical, and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, as well as students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA *Proceedings* are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed immeasurably **ZTAGA** to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world.

The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby recognizes a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2020 TAGA Michael

H. Bruno Award in appreciation of his dedicated service and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Michael. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.



2020 Bruno Award Recipient: Laura Lawton

Laura Lawton is the President and Owner of the Spokanebased companies Lawton Printing, Inc. and File-Ez Folder, Inc. She's the fourth generation of her family to manage these creative enterprises. Lawton is comprised of three divisions: Lawton Printing Services; innovAGING, which produces directories for senior citizens and their families; and Navitabs, which creates tabs



for books, reports, and more. Lawton's sister company, File-Ez Folder, produces pocket, laminated, and printed-pocket folders for high school, college, and business markets. Laura began in customer service within her family's company in 1984, taking on the reigns of scheduler in the Commercial Printing Division and assistant and manager of the Publications Division before becoming owner in September 2008.

While Laura has been President of these companies since 2001, she also has extensive experience in the wider print industry. Laura graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Graphic Communication with a focus in Printing Management from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. She has been a board member, national board representative, executive committee member, and the board president of the Pacific Printing Industries Association. She has been heavily involved with the corresponding national association for nearly 20 years, currently serving as a finance committee member, chair of its Young Print Professionals Group, and Chair of the Board 2011-2012. During that time, Laura also served as a member of the Kodak Commercial Printing Advisory Group. Currently, Laura is an advisory board member of Cal Poly



Graphic Communication and was awarded the 2019 Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award by Printing Industries of America (now PRINTING United Alliance).

Outside of the print world, Laura demonstrates her passion for community with a variety of involvement. She has served on the board and executive committees of the Association of Washington Business, Junior League of Spokane, Greater Spokane Incorporated, and the Rypien Foundation, which helps families who are battling childhood cancer. Laura is also the Board President of Project Beauty Share, an organization that provides personal hygiene, cosmetics, and beauty products to women and families overcoming abuse, addiction, homelessness, and poverty. In the past, Laura has served on the Whitworth Business Advisory Board, Independent Colleges of Washington Board, and the Saint George's School Finance Committee. Through these organizations, Laura continues to create meaningful community partnerships.



Michael H. Brunc

Previous Honorees

2019 Dr. Don P. Duncan Juanita M. Parris Mike Scrutton

2018 Dr. Mark FJ Bohan

2017 Lawrence Warter

2016 Tony Bean Paul Cousineau

2015 Guy Gecht Frank Romano Erwin Widmer

2014 Sam Ingram Yoshiharu Komori George Ryan

2013 Anthony Stanton

2012 James C. King John E. Warnock

2011 Richard Goodman

2010 Bernard Pineaux

2009 Patrice J. Mangin

2008 Tim C. Claypole

2007 Bruce Blom

2006 Robert Chung

2005 Helene Juhola

2004 Harvey Levenson

2003 Nils Enlund

2002 Takashi Numakura 2001

Ing Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky William Ray

2000 Mitsuo Kaji

1999 Joel Rubin Walter Zawacki

1998 Jacqueline Fetsko Franz Sigg

1997 Edward Granger Raymond Prince

1996 Gary Field David McDowell

1995 – Orlando Eiichi Inoue Patrice Dunn

1995 – Paris Anthony Johnson

1994 Kurt Schlapfer

1993 Paul Borth Ing Uwe Gast

1992 Richard Fisch Milton Pearson

1991 Sven Ahrenkilde Brian Chapman Charles Rinehart

1990 Robert Downie Thomas Fadner Tapio Lehtonen

1989 H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1988 James Cox Philip Evanoff Lawrence Wilson **1987** Werner Gerlach Warren Rhodes Kenneth West

1986 John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles Southworth

1985 Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo Karttunen Bryan Sunderland

1984 Robert Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1983 William Schreiber William Somerville

1982 Gordon Johnson Herbert Phillips

1981 John Crosfield George Jorgensen

1980 William Schaeffer Philip Tobias

1979 Harvey George Richard Maurer John McMaster

1978 Bernard Halpern Francis Wurzberg, Jr.

1977 Albert Materazzi Robert Rossell Earl Sundeen William Walker

1976 Michael Bruno Paul Hartsuch Frank Preucil John Yule



Michael H. Bruno TAGAAWARD

President Wandee Poolpol

Executive Vice President Dr. Mark Bohan

Vice President, Technical Papers Hart Swisher

Vice President, Marketing Dawn Nye

Vice President, Membership DJ Montalto

Vice President, Education Bruce Leigh Myers, Ph.D.

Immediate Past President Dr. Liam O'Hara

Board of Directors

Dr. John Anderson Udi Arieli David Biro Anthony Carignano Paul Cousineau Dr. Martin Delp Dr. Martin Habekost Brian Lawler David Niles Birgit Plautz Bill Pope Jason Rhyne John Seymour Dr. Yu-Ju (Mandy) Wu

Staff

Managing Director Jim Workman Conference Assistant

Mike Packard

Administrator John Bodnar

Technical Association of the Graphic Arts 301 Brush Creek Road • Warrendale, PA 15086 USA Telephone: 412-259-1706 • Fax: 412-259-1765 www.taga.org