



Presented by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

March 17, 2020



Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award For Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical, and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, as well as students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA *Proceedings* are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed immeasurably to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world.

The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby recognizes a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2020 TAGA Michael

H. Bruno Award in appreciation of his dedicated service and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

Gary A.

ZTAGA

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Michael. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.



2020 Bruno Award Recipient: Gary A. Jones

Gary A. Jones is the director of environmental, health and safety (EHS) affairs at the PRINTING United Alliance in Fairfax, VA. His primary responsibility is to monitor and analyze EHS regulatory activities at all domestic and some international government levels. He provides representation on behalf of the printing and specialty graphic imaging industry. In doing so, Mr. Jones works closely with



the federal and state-level Environmental Protection Agencies (EPA), Occupational Safety and Health Agency (OSHA), Department of Transportation (DOT), and other agencies.

Widely considered a leading authority in his field, Mr. Jones frequently organizes and participates on industry committees or is the sole industry liaison representing the printing industry before state and federal regulatory agencies during rulemakings. He also works with the agencies to secure interpretations and other related policy documents on how the regulations apply to printing operations.

Mr. Jones provides membership assistance on EHS compliance and sustainability programs. He regularly presents at industry events and workshops. He regularly contributes to a variety of publications including the PRINTING United Alliance Journal. Mr. Jones also provides support to the Sustainable Green Printing Partnership, an organization dedicated to assisting printers respond to the customer demand for environmentally friendly printing.



Prior to joining the Specialty Graphic Imaging Association (now PRINTING United Alliance) in 2018, Mr. Jones was the Assistant Vice President for EHS Affairs at Printing Industries of America. Before working at Printing Industries of America he was a criminalist for the Allegheny County Forensic Laboratory in Pittsburgh, Pa and an analytical chemist for the Commonwealth of Virginia Bureau of Forensic Science. He holds a BS in biology from LaRoche College and an MS in chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh.



Previous Honorees

2019

Dr. Don P. Duncan Juanita M. Parris Mike Scrutton

2018

Dr. Mark FJ Bohan

2017

Lawrence Warter

2016

Tony Bean Paul Cousineau

2015

Guy Gecht Frank Romano Erwin Widmer

2014

Sam Ingram Yoshiharu Komori George Ryan

2013

Anthony Stanton

2012

James C. King John E. Warnock

2011

Richard Goodman

2010

Bernard Pineaux

2009

Patrice J. Mangin

2008

Tim C. Claypole

2007

Bruce Blom

2006

Robert Chung

2005

Helene Juhola

2004

Harvey Levenson

2003

Nils Enlund

2002

Takashi Numakura

2001

Ing Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky William Ray

2000

Mitsuo Kaji

1999

Joel Rubin Walter Zawacki

1998

Jacqueline Fetsko Franz Sigg

1997

Edward Granger Raymond Prince

1996

Gary Field David McDowell

1995 – Orlando

Eiichi Inoue Patrice Dunn

1995 – Paris Anthony Johnson

1994

Kurt Schlapfer

1993

Paul Borth Ing Uwe Gast

1992

Richard Fisch Milton Pearson

1991

Sven Ahrenkilde Brian Chapman Charles Rinehart

1990

Robert Downie Thomas Fadner Tapio Lehtonen

1989

H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1988

James Cox Philip Evanoff Lawrence Wilson

1987

Werner Gerlach Warren Rhodes Kenneth West

1986

John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles Southworth

1985

Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo Karttunen Bryan Sunderland

1984

Robert Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1983

William Schreiber William Somerville

1982

Gordon Johnson Herbert Phillips

1981

John Crosfield George Jorgensen

1980

William Schaeffer Philip Tobias

1979

Harvey George Richard Maurer John McMaster

1978

Bernard Halpern Francis Wurzberg, Jr.

1977

Albert Materazzi Robert Rossell Earl Sundeen William Walker

1976

Michael Bruno Paul Hartsuch Frank Preucil John Yule



President

Wandee Poolpol

Executive Vice President

Dr. Mark Bohan

Vice President, Technical Papers

Hart Swisher

Vice President, Marketing

Dawn Nye

Vice President, Membership

DJ Montalto

Vice President, Education

Bruce Leigh Myers, Ph.D.

Immediate Past President

Dr. Liam O'Hara

Board of Directors

Dr. John Anderson
Udi Arieli
David Niles
David Biro
Birgit Plautz
Anthony Carignano
Paul Cousineau
Dr. Martin Delp
Brian Lawler
David Niles
Birgit Plautz
Bill Pope
Jason Rhyne
John Seymour

Dr. Martin Habekost Dr. Yu-Ju (Mandy) Wu

Staff Managing Director

Jim Workman

Administrator

John Bodnar

Conference Assistant

Mike Packard

301 Brush Creek Road • Warrendale, PA 15086 USA Telephone: 412-259-1706 • Fax: 412-259-1765 www.taga.org