The **2013 TAGA** MICHAEL H. BRUNO AWARD

For Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, and students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA Proceedings are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed measurably to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world. The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby singles out a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2013 TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award as appreciation of his dedicated services and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Mike. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him for himself and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.

2013 TAGA Anthony Stanton

Dr. Anthony Stanton is a Teaching Professor and Director of Graphic Media Management for the Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University. In addition to teaching, Stanton is responsible for developing the curriculum, administering over adjunct faculty, and advising students in the graphic media track. During the 16 years he has taught at CMU, Stanton has kept pace with the times by introducing new courses including Publishing on the Worldwide Web, Interactive Media Management, Color Reproduction and Management, and Publishing in the Information Age. These courses attract students from every college at CMU, and graduates of the graphic media track are employed by a number of media and publishing companies.

Before Carnegie Mellon, Stanton spent 12 years at the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation (GATF) as the Director of its new Process Control Division, focusing on the design, production, and marketing of process control devices. While at GATF, Stanton improved the quality and consistency of existing process control devices and designed scores of new test images and other process control devices to satisfy a wide variety of measuring needs. He also conducted research in print analysis and taught workshops and seminars.

Stanton made two significant contributions while at GATF. He created the first Color Reproduction Test Kits, which incorporated test forms designed to enable users to optimize the quality of an entire printing system through a combination of diagnostic, process control, characterization, and calibration targets. Stanton's second major contribution was to move aggressively into digital targets in the early 1990s. Some of the targets he designed then are still sold by Printing Industries (GATF's successor) today.

Stanton has been an active member of TAGA since 1978, when he received a TAGA scholarship that enabled him to attend graduate school at Rochester Institute of Technology. He served on the TAGA Board of Directors for 10 years. During that time he held the positions of Treasurer, Secretary, Vice-President of Technical Papers, Executive Vice-President, and President (2007–2009). Stanton has authored and coauthored 17 TAGA papers and presented seven tutorials at TAGA conferences.

In total, Stanton has authored 61 publications; taught more than 100 seminars, tutorials, and workshops; and consulted for numerous organizations. He has served on a variety of industry committees and judged 15 national and international print contests. Since 2002, Stanton has served as Consulting Editor in the area of Graphic Arts and Photography for the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

Stanton's educational background includes a B.A. in Art from Colorado College in 1972. After working for a photo studio in New York and a print shop in Toronto, he attended the University of Maryland, where he received an undergraduate certification in Industrial Arts and an M.Ed. in Industrial Education in 1978.

Stanton next attended Rochester Institute of Technology, where he earned an M.S. in Printing Technology in 1982. Stanton taught for three years in the California State University System before joining GATF and, in 1992, earning a Ph.D. in Instructional Design and Technology at the University of Pittsburgh.

Stanton's professional interests include photography, color reproduction, process control, printing processes, and emerging technologies. Since 1975, when he decided he wanted to teach at the university level, Stanton's career path has stayed true to that goal. His professional background informs his classroom presentations, and his passion for learning motivates his teaching. He directly benefits from his students, who teach him what is relevant in their world, and he indirectly benefits from their sense of optimism, their can-do spirit, and their entrepreneurial drive.

PREVIOUS MICHAEL H. BRUNO AWARD HONOREES

1976 Michael H. Bruno Paul J. Hartsuch

Frank M. Preucil John A. C. Yule

1977

Albert R. Materazzi Robert E. Rossell Earl I. Sundeen William C. Walker

1978

Bernard R. Halpern Francis L. Wurzberg, Jr.

1979

Harvey F. George Richard E. Maurer John McMaster

1980

William D. Schaeffer Philip E. Tobias

1981

John F. Crosfield George W. Jorgensen

1982

Gordon O. F. Johnson Herbert E. Phillips

1983

William F. Schreiber William E. Somerville

1984

Robert W. Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1985

Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo T. P. Karttunen Bryan H. W. Sunderland

1986

John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles F. Southworth 1987

Werner F. Gerlach Warren L. Rhodes Kenneth G. West

1988

James R. Cox Philip C. Evanoff Lawrence A. Wilson

1989

H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1990

Robert H. Downie Dr. Thomas A. Fadner Dr. Tapio Lehtonen

1991

Sven Ahrenkilde Brian C. Chapman Charles E. Rinehart

1992

Richard S. Fisch Milton Pearson

1993

Paul F. Borth Dr.-Ing. Uwe Gast

1994

Dr. Kurt Schläpfer

1995–Orlando Dr. Eiichi Inoue Patrice M. Dunn

1995–Paris Anthony J. Johnson

1996

Gary G. Field David Q. McDowell

1997

Dr. Edward M. Granger Raymond J. Prince 1998

Jacqueline M. Fetsko Franz Sigg

1999

Joel Rubin Walter F. Zawacki

2000

Dr. Mitsuo Kaji

2001

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky Dr. William J. Ray

2002

Takashi Numakura

2003

Nils Enlund

2004

Harvey R. Levenson

2005

Helene Juhola

2006

Robert Y. Chung

2007 Bruce Blom

2008

Tim C. Claypole

2009

Patrice J. Magin

2010

Bernard Pineaux

2011

Richard Goodman

2012

James C. King John E. Warnock