

# Michael H. Bruno TAGAAWABD



Presented at the 62nd Annual Technical Conference of the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

San Diego, California USA

March 16, 2010



# Michael H. Bruno

# Michael H. Bruno Taga Award For Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, and students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA Proceedings are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed measurably to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world. The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby singles out a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2010 TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award in appreciation of his dedicated services and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Mike. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.

e e TECHNICAL ASSOCIATION No Field Carlos Dermard Pineuax Dermard Pineuax



## Michael H. Bruno Award 2010 to Bernard Pineaux



This year, TAGA honors Bernard Pineaux with the Michael H. Bruno Award in recognition of his dedication to graphic arts education and research.

Bernard Pineaux studied printing engineering at EFPG, the French engineering school of paper and printing, located in Grenoble, France, and connected to the Grenoble Institute of Technology. After obtaining his engineering degree in printing and converting in 1986, he obtained a scholarship to complete a Master's degree in printing technology at Rochester Institute of Technology. This is where he was first in contact with TAGA.

After one year of military service in 1988, he joined a large French business forms printing company, Danel, as the technical manager of one of its plants, located in Blois. In 1991, he became its production manager as well.

Bernard was hired by EFPG in 1993. He started teaching while preparing a Ph.D dealing with dampening solutions in offset lithography. This gave him the opportunity to work in Germany with IFRA, Hartmann Druckfarben, and FOGRA and to work in Canada with the Quebec Graphic Communications Institute. Bernard obtained his Ph.D in process engineering from the Grenoble Institute of Technology in 1997.



Bernard has been teaching for 17 years, giving courses on printing processes and management to engineering students. He also has been giving seminars and courses to various companies (printers and suppliers) and to teachers in graphic communications, mostly in France and Quebec.

From 1998 to 2004, Bernard was in charge of the printing and converting departments at EFPG. He also led the project which enabled EFPG and its laboratory to obtain an ISO 9001 certification in 2005, thus becoming one of the rare engineering schools owning such a certification. Bernard was named head of studies in 2004, then deputy director in 2007.

EFPG became one of the 6 engineering schools of the new Grenoble Institute of Technology in 2008 and changed its name to Grenoble INP-Pagora, the International School of Paper, Print Media and biomaterials. Bernard was elected as its first director. His objectives are to strengthen the position and attractiveness of Pagora by implementing an integrated (quality, safety and environment) management system, by building new industrial, research and academic partnerships, by improving pedagogy, by developing continuous education and international exchanges and by diversifying revenues.

Bernard has been a member of TAGA since 1994. He helped in implementing the French TAGA student chapter at EFPG in 1994 and has been advising the chapter since then. In 2001 and 2004, Bernard was elected to the TAGA board of directors where he chaired the student and student chapter committees. He was also involved in five TAGA papers and one paper in the Journal of Graphic Technology.



# Michael H. Bruno TAGA AWARD

## Previous Honorees

**2009** Patrice J. Mangin

**2008** Tim C. Claypole

**2007** Bruce Blom

2006 Robert Chung

**2005** Helene Juhola

**2004** Harvey Levenson

**2003** Nils Enlund

**2002** Takashi Numakura

**2001** Ing Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky William Ray

**2000** Mitsuo Kaji

**1999** Joel Rubin Walter Zawacki

**1998** Jacqueline Fetsko Franz Sigg

**1997** Edward Granger Raymond Prince

**1996** Gary Field David McDowell **1995 – Orlando** Eiichi Inoue Patrice Dunn

**1995 – Paris** Anthony Johnson

**1994** Kurt Schlapfer

**1993** Paul Borth Ing Uwe Gast

**1992** Richard Fisch Milton Pearson

**1991** Sven Ahrenkilde Brian Chapman Charles Rinehart

**1990** Robert Downie Thomas Fadner Tapio Lehtonen

**1989** H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

**1988** James Cox Philip Evanoff Lawrence Wilson

**1987** Werner Gerlach Warren Rhodes Kenneth West

**1986** John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles Southworth 1985

Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo Karttunen Bryan Sunderland

**1984** Robert Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

**1983** William Schreiber William Somerville

**1982** Gordon Johnson Herbert Phillips

**1981** John Crosfield George Jorgensen

**1980** William Schaeffer Philip Tobias

**1979** Harvey George Richard Maurer John McMaster

**1978** Bernard Halpern Francis Wurzberg, Jr.

**1977** Albert Materazzi Robert Rossell Earl Sundeen William Walker

**1976** Michael Bruno Paul Hartsuch Frank Preucil John Yule



# Michael H. Bruno TAGAAWARD

## Taga Officers For 2009–2010

### 

Björn Kruse

#### **Executive Vice President** Paul Cousineau

#### Vice President, Technical Papers Wandee Poolpol

#### Vice President, Membership/Publicity

Charles Gehman

#### Vice President, Education

Eric Neumann

#### Secretary-Treasurer Paula Gurnee

#### **Immediate Past President**

Anthony Stanton

#### **Board of Directors**

Ghilad Dziesietnik Don Duncan William Esler Martin Habekost Yung-Cheng Hsieh Eugene Langlais Alexandra Pekarovicova John Seymour Hal Stratton John Sweeney Erwin Widmer

#### **Managing Director**

Mark Bohan

#### Administrator

Jessica Meyers

#### **Conference Manager**

Gwen Martin

#### **Technical Association of the Graphic Arts**

200 Deer Run Road Sewickley, PA 15143-2600 USA Telephone: 800-910-4283 Fax: 412-259-1765 www.taga.org