

Michael H. Bruno Award 2007

Presented at the 59th Annual Technical Conference of the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts Pittsburgh, PA USA • March 20, 2007



Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

For Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, and students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of *TAGA Proceedings* are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed measurably to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world. The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby singles out a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2007 TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award as appreciation of his dedicated services and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Mike. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him for himself and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

Michael H. Bruno Award 2007 to Dr. Bruce Blom

This year, TAGA honors Dr. Bruce Blom with the Michael H. Bruno Award in recognition of his outstanding thirty-two-year career in the graphic arts.

Bruce graduated from Clarkson University with a Ph.D in Chemistry and began his career as a National Science Foundation presidential intern in environmental chemistry. Working on the fate of heavy metals in soils and harbor dredgings, experience gathered here in the areas of analytical and aquatic chemistry proved invaluable in his next assignment as manager of the analytical laboratory at the Flint Ink Corporation.



Dr. Bruce Blom

Bruce spent the next 13 years with Flint in a variety of positions including assistant technical director. Initially involved with the analytical lab, he branched into research and product development. Building on his prior experiences, he developed new fountain solutions, both acid and alkaline, and introduced the use of conductivity measurements to control these in the pressroom, still the most commonly used technique. Bruce was extensively involved with the development of both conventional and water-based news inks and the development and growth of Flint's first physical chemistry, rheology, and printing research labs. During this period Bruce also began his association with TAGA and ASTM's Printing Ink Committee.

Following Flint, Bruce moved to the paper industry, joining the James River Corporation as a research fellow in their corporate reserach and development facilities in Neenah, Wisconsin. Here he continued his research into paper and ink interactions in support of their paper and board operations. As with Flint, he spent considerable time in the field working with printers to understand and resolve many of the problems they encountered. He also found time to head up Flint's environmental compliance activities.

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

In 1994 Bruce joined the Mead Corporation, now the NewPage Corporation, as a senior research fellow at their Central Research lab in Chillicothe, Ohio. Currently he is a regional technical field service manager responsible for the mill-based representatives at NewPage's four mills. In addition to working closely with customers and NewPage's Quality Assurance managers, Bruce also is responsible for NewPage's Paper KnowledgeTM program. This program brings a series of basic and advanced paper and printing seminars to NewPage's customers, either at their location or at a NewPage mill.

Bruce's has been a speaker and participant in numerous industry events. His involvement with ASTM has been as a member, test method developer, and assistant chairman. As a member of TAGA since 1975, Bruce has authored or co-authored six TAGA presentations, including what may have been the first attempt at running an experimental design-based series of print tests in a commercial pressroom. Bruce has served TAGA as a board member for many years, chairman of the Education Committee, treasurer, and his last position as that of TAGA president. Among the many things accomplished during this period was the forging of a closer alliance with the paper industry by promoting concurrent meetings between TAGA and TAPPI, of which he is also a member.

For all of his accomplishments and his dedication to graphic arts education, TAGA distinguishes Dr. Bruce Blom with the 2007 Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award.

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

Previous Honorees

1976

Michael H. Bruno Paul J. Hartsuch Frank M. Preucil John A. C. Yule

1977

Albert R. Materazzi Robert E. Rossell Earl I. Sundeen William C. Walker

1978

Bernard R. Halpern Francis L. Wurzberg, Jr.

1979

Harvey F. George Richard E. Maurer John McMaster

1980

William D. Schaeffer Philip E. Tobias

1981

John F. Crosfield George W. Jorgensen

1982

Gordon O.F. Johnson Herbert E. Phillips

1983 William F. Schreiber William E. Somerville

1984

Robert W. Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1985

Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo T.P. Karttunen Brvan H.W. Sunderland

1986

John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles F. Southworth

1987

Werner F. Gerlach Warren L. Rhodes Kenneth G. West

1988

James R. Cox Philip C. Evanoff Lawrence A. Wilson

1989

H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1990

Robert H. Downie Dr. Thomas A. Fadner Dr. Tapio Lehtonen

1991

Sven Ahrenkilde Brian M. Chapman Charles E. Rinehart

1992 Richard S. Fisch Milton Pearson

1993 Paul F. Borth Dr.-Ing. Uwe Gast

1994 Dr. Kurt Schlapfer

1995 – Orlando Dr. Eiichi Inoue Patrice M. Dunn

1995 – Paris Anthony J. Johnson

1996 Gary G. Field David Q. McDowell

1997 Dr. Edward M. Granger Raymond J. Prince

1998 Jacqueline M. Fetsko Franz Sigg

1999

Joel Rubin Walter F. Zawacki

2000 Dr. Mitsuo Kaji

2001

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky Dr. William J. Ray

2002 Takashi Numakura

2003 Nils Enlund

2004 Dr. Harvey R. Levenson

2005 Helene Juhola

2006 Robert Chung

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award

TAGA Officers for 2006–2007

President Richard Goodman

Executive Vice President Anthony Stanton

Vice President, Technical Papers Tim C. Claypole

Vice President, Membership/Publicity Charles Gehman

Secretary-Treasurer Graham Battersby

Immediate Past President William Ray

Board of Directors

Paul Cousineau William Esler David Galton Paula Gurnee Sam Ingram Björn Kruse Eric Neumann Alexandra Pekarovicova Bernard Pineaux Vincent Pinzone Wandee Poolpol John Sweeney

Administrator

Mark Bohan

Assistant Administrator Cathie Meyers

Conference Manager Gwen Martin



Technical Association of the Graphic Arts 200 Deer Run Road • Sewickley, PA 15143-2600 Telephone: 800-910-4283 • Fax: 412-741-2311 • www.taga.org