

Taga Honors Award 1979 Presented at

Kansas City, Missouri

during the

Annual Conference

Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

May 8, 1979

# THE TAGA HONORS AWARD

# for Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) was organized in 1948 as a research forum for the graphic arts. It has a distinguished history of annual conferences where technical papers are presented. TAGA Proceedings is the published record of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have greatly contributed to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world. The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby recognizes the successful endeavors of three additional members by presenting them with the TAGA Honors Award. We hope that all members of TAGA and people throughout the graphic arts industry will join in congratulating these men on their achievements.

As a symbol of this honor, each recipient will receive the TAGA Honors Award® which has a design of three transparent side panels in the subtractive primary colors, yellow, magenta and cyan, which are the colors of the three dye layers in transparencies and the colorants used in the printing inks for process-color. The overlap colors of red, green and blue (violet) are generated by the colored panels. The black base represents the black printer and the white base of the pyramid the printing paper.

We present, in alphabetical order, the three distinguished 1979 recipients of the TAGA Honors Award.

# TAGA HONORS AWARD 1979 to HARVEY F. GEORGE

for his outstanding contributions to the technology of the industry, particularly with respect to gravure and for his service through technical and research organizations. TAGA honors Harvey George for his leadership in TAGA as paper presenter, board member, conference host, and as President of our association.



Harvey F. George has been Executive Vice President and Research Director of the Gravure Research Institute since 1955. Prior to joining GRI, he was head of the graphic arts research section of Merganthaler Linotype Company for six years. He was recruited by the Board of Directors of Gravure Research Institute to set up and head its first research laboratory. During Mr. George's tenure the institute has grown many fold in membership and research expenditures and has an excellent record of accomplishment in printing research.

Harvey George is Past Chairman of the TAPPI Graphic Arts Committee, a member of the Executive Committee of the Research and Engineering Council of the Graphic Arts and is active in the Gravure Technical Association. He is the author of numerous articles on gravure printing and a contributor to McGraw-Hill "Encyclopedia of Science and Technology," and Van Nostrand "Handbook of Pulp and Paper Technology."

He holds more than two dozen U.S. and foreign patents on offset and gravure press developments including the gravure electrostatic assist process which is widely used on gravure presses throughout the world.

Mr. George conducted five European gravure tours for the members of GRI and has traveled extensively, keeping abreast of gravure developments for his organization. He is a member of IARIGAI, International Association of Research Institutes for the Graphic Arts Industry, of which he is Vice Chairman. He coordinates with the European Rotogravure Association on their mutual research programs.

Mr. George is also a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Static Electricity Committee of the National Fire Protection Association, the Society of Photographic Scientists and Engineers and the American Society of Association Executives.

# **PREVIOUS HONOREES**

1976

Michael H. Bruno Paul J. Hartsuch Frank M. Preucil John A.C. Yule

1977

Albert R. Materazzi Robert E. Rossell Earl I. Sundeen William C. Walker

1978

Bernard R. Halpern Francis L. Wurzburg, Jr.

### OFFICERS 1978 - 1979

President Hugh J. Dunn

First Vice President
William Somerville

Second Vice President Kurt Pfahl

Executive Secretary
Earl I. Sundeen

### **DIRECTORS**

Miles F. Southworth
Francis L. Cox
Wayne M. Gilgore
Calvin S. McCamy
Walter A. Bruehs

Brian M. Chapman Karl L. Thaxton Lawrence J. Bain Frederick W. Goetz Anson Hosley

TECHNICAL ASSOCIATION OF THE GRAPHIC ARTS
P.O. Box 3064, Federal Station
Rochester, New York 14614